DSCC Holds 60th Nursing Pinning

47 Traditional Nursing Students Graduate

Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) honored its 60th nursing classes with a ceremony for 47 graduates in the traditional nursing program Dec. 15. The ceremony took place at Crosspointe Baptist Church in Millington. A total of 1,656 nursing students have graduated from DSCC over the past 37 years.


The ceremony began with nursing graduate Johnnie Butterly of Covington leading the invocation. Amy Johnson, dean of nursing, opened the ceremony with an introduction of nursing staff and faculty. DSCC President Karen Bowyer acknowledged the graduates and congratulated them on their accomplishments.


The ceremony proceeded with the recognition of 35 first-year nursing students by nursing instructor Kim Dew.


Nursing instructor Kim Dew introduced class officers including president Kelley Moore of Memphis, vice president LaMaris Simon of Covington, secretary Mary Everett Woodard of Atoka, treasurer Yolanda Sayles of Memphis and historian Benjamin Mitchell of Bartlett.


Student Nursing Association (SNA) officers were introduced by nursing instructor Tammy Hines and included president Kelley Moore, vice president Whitney White of Atoka and historians Yolanda Sayles, Jennifer Maclin of Memphis and Hannah Pinner of Covington.


Kelley Moore, class president, addressed her classmates with a poem she wrote about their time together and the challenges they faced.


Dr. Bowyer presented the Friend of Nursing Award, chosen by the graduating class, to Dr. Brigham Scallion, assistant professor of biology.


Nursing instructor Trenna Richardson awarded the Scholastic Award, presented to the student with the highest grade-point average (GPA), to nursing graduate Benjamin Mitchell, who graduated with a 3.69 GPA.


The Peggy Pendergrast Faculty Award, presented by nursing instructor Lisa Hayden, was awarded to nursing graduate Roxie Hopkins of Burlison. This special award, given in honor of Peggy Pendergrast, the founding director of the DSCC nursing program, is presented to a student demonstrating the qualities that are essential for effective nursing practice.


Nursing instructor Anne Gregory presented the Clinical Practice Award, selected by members of the nursing faculty, to nursing graduate Mary Everett Woodard. This award is given to nursing graduates who demonstrate qualities such as the practice of nursing as a humanistic art and science, the recognition of each person as a unique individual and acceptance of legal and ethical professional accountability.


Nursing graduate Jacqueline Ferrell of Ripley presented the Friendship Award, chosen by class members, to fellow classmate Kelley Moore.


Amy Johnson, DSCC dean of nursing, presented class pins to the graduates. Following tradition, each nursing graduate received a ceramic replica of the lamp carried by Florence Nightingale, a pioneer in the nursing profession. Nursing graduates lit the lamps and recited the Nightingale Pledge.


The 47 graduates of DSCC’s December 2017 traditional nursing class included:


Alamo - Maegan Edwards, Adrienne Thomas

Atoka - Vickey Truong, Mary Everett Woodard

Bartlett - Haley Crabtree, Benjamin Mitchell

Bells - Shan‘Dedra Cook-Savage

Brighton - Constance Howell, Amanda MacDonnchadh, Amber Scullark, Rebekah Timbs

Brownsville - Kristina Reece, Niketa Wellington

Burlison - Breanna Grassie, Roxie Hopkins

Covington - Christina Baker, Johnnie Butterly, Mallory Delaney, Kristin Gardiner, Stephen Goode, LaMaris Simon, LaShonda Smith

Dresden - Millie Newhouse, Randi Rogers

Dyersburg - Tara Brandon, Sabrina Ciechan

Finley - Anna Childress

Halls - Natalie Tucker

Humboldt - Angelia Harris, Heather Parker

Medina - Cortni McCall

Memphis - Vanessa Echols, Kaniesha Joyner, Courtney Mann, Corese Mazique, Kelley Moore, Yolanda Sayles

Munford - Kelly Allen, Zenia Brown, Sally Downing, Charlene Williams

Newbern - Tonya Brown, Madison Seratt

Ripley - Jacqueline Ferrell, Bayley Fluty, DaNesha Wynn

Union City - Catherine Hayslett