PTK Induction Ceremony Held

29 new members Inducted into the AEA chapter.

Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) inducted 29 new members into the Alpha Epsilon Alpha (AEA) chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) March 17. The Induction Ceremony for the PTK academic honorary society was held inside the Student Center on the Dyersburg campus.


New inductees included: Alexis Ballard of Ridgely, Bailey Baugues of Covington, Miranda Brandt of Brighton, Brianna Burse of Halls, Olivia Capps of Dyersburg, Chelsea Cox of Ripley, Reed Daniels of Dyersburg, Jeniffer Dial of Dyersburg, Ann Finley of Finley, Jacob Hyde of Union City, Briana Jensen of Covington, Natalie King of Dyersburg, Grant Lester of Millington, Sarah Lewis    of Newbern, Mario Mandujano of Union City, Isaac Mecklin of Munford, Becca Medford of Ripley, Chelsea Melton of Bartlett, Morgan Moore of Dyersburg, Philip Moore  of Millington, Makenzie Pugh of Covington, Gabrielle Scott of Covington, Mary Grace Simonton of Covington, Kirsten Solomon of Halls, Nicole Tompkins of Burlison, Luke Walden of Munford, Samantha Walton of Humboldt, Andrew Webb of Brighton, and Julia Williams of Dyersburg.


Matthew Miller of Millington, chapter president, welcomed the audience and introduced Dr. Karen Bowyer, DSCC president. Dr. Bowyer recognized Miller along with Hannah Walden of Munford as they were recently chosen to serve on the All-Tennessee Academic Team.


Miller presented the Faculty and Staff Golden Apple Awards to faculty and staff who have encouraged students to achieve the honor of becoming a PTK member. Recipients included Michael Bowen, Brent Fonville, Angela Martin, Tracy McLaughlin and Anne Sain.


Dr. Brigham Scallion, instructor of biology and PTK chapter advisor, introduced guest speaker Tracie Langley, DSCC coordinator of Admissions and Dual Enrollment and former AEA president and vice president of the West Region. The induction of new members was led by the DSCC Student Leadership Team consisting of Miller, Will Kimes of Brighton, vice president of scholarships, Hannah Walden of Munford, vice president of service, Jenna Hein of Munford, vice president of fundraising, Virginia Ruble-Cooper of Hornbeak, vice president of leadership, Emily Mecklin of Munford, secretary and Erin Hein of Munford, treasurer.


The goal of PTK is to recognize the academic achievements of its members and to provide an opportunity for them to become actively involved in student life at DSCC. As members of the society, students should exemplify its four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. To be eligible for membership in this prestigious honor society, students must have completed 12 hours of college-level courses, be enrolled in at least 6 credit hours per semester, and post a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher. The local AEA chapter was established at DSCC in 1979.