Emergency Medical Technology and Paramedic
Students must be 18 years of age and must possess a regular high school diploma or have completed a GED to enroll in EMT courses. AHA Healthcare provider CPR certification is required. A criminal background check and a drug screen will be conducted.
DSCC offers the following options for students interested in
Emergency Medical Technology (EMT) and Paramedic
Option One: EMT I and EMT II
EMT I and EMT II are approved by the Tennessee Department of
Health, Division of Emergency Medical Services. Upon successful
completion of both courses and a passing score on the state examination,
students may apply for state licensure as an Emergency
Medical Technician. For more information, see Criteria: State of
Tennessee, Division of EMS Rule (1200-12-1.04 and 1200-12-1-
.13) pursuant to T.C.A. Title 68, Chapter 140.
1. Must be at least 18 years of age;
2. Must possess a regular or academic high school diploma
or GED; Must hold a current CPR certification as an
American Heart Association Healthcare Provider or must
complete EMT 1000 with a “C” or better;
3. Must pass a criminal background check and a drug screen
for all EMT courses. EMT 101 and EMT 102 must be completed
in the same academic year. A minimum grade of
“C” in EMT 101 is required to progress to EMT 102.
Option Two: AAS in Emergency Services Major with a
Concentration in EMT
The prerequisites listed under Option One apply to this option
unless transfer credit is awarded for EMT course work with a
“C” or better.
Option Three: EMT-Paramedic Technical Certificate
1. Must undergo a psychological profile conducted by a licensed
2. Must complete an EMT knowledge test;
3. Must complete an oral interview; Must complete the following
Learning Support courses, if applicable: DSPR
0800, DSPW 0800, DSPM 0800; minimum grade of “C”
4. Must complete BIOL 2010 and BIOL 2020 or BIOL 1000
or equivalent with a “C” or better in each course.
5. Must pass a criminal background check and a drug
screen for all PARA courses.
Option Four: AAS in Emergency Services Major with a Concentration
This program is approved by the Tennessee Department of Health,
Division of Emergency Medical Services. Upon successful comple-
tion of the required course work and a passing score on the state
examination, the student may apply for state licensure as an EMTParamedic.
For more information, see Criteria: State of Tennessee,
Division of EMS Rule (1200-12-1.04 and 1200-12-1-.13)
pursuant to T.C.A. Title 68, Chapter 140.
1. The above prerequisites apply unless the student is
transferring Paramedic program courses with a “C” or
2. Students must earn a “C” or better to progress to other
PARA courses and to complete the program.
Note: The following criteria are required by clinical affiliates.
These requirements may have different timelines than those
of the state EMS rules and regulations.
3. Proof of satisfactory physical and mental condition –
Cost is the student’s responsibility.
4. Proof of current immunizations – In addition to proof of
other immunizations as required by Tennessee law, effective
July 1, 2011, students expected to have patient
contact must present proof of protection against hepatitis
B before patient contact begins.
5. Proof of a negative TB skin test or chest X-ray, as indicated.
TB skin tests are required yearly.
6. Proof of background check and drug screen – Detailed
instructions will be given during the first class meeting.
Costs of background check and drug screen are the student’s
For the assurance of patient safety, clinical facilities require a
criminal background check and drug screen before a student begins
any clinical lab experience involving patient contact. Based
on the results of these procedures, an affiliated clinical site may
prohibit a student’s presence at the facility. Such action will result
in the student’s inability to successfully complete course and
program requirements. Additionally, conviction of certain crimes
may make applicants ineligible for licensure even if they successfully
complete the EMT-Paramedic program. Students who have
not completed the background check or paid for the drug screen
within three working days after class begins will be withdrawn
from the program.
Healthcare insurance is highly recommended.
For more information, contact the EMT/Paramedic program director.