Vision and Mission

Institutional MISSION Profile

Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) is a comprehensive two-year institution, serving seven rural counties including Crockett, Dyer, Gibson, Lake, Lauderdale, Obion and Tipton. DSCC provides educational opportunities through its home campus in Dyersburg, the Jimmy Naifeh Center at Tipton County (Covington) and the Gibson County Center (Trenton). DSCC offers associate degree and certificate programs to prepare students for the workforce and for transfer to a four-year institution. Nursing, EMT/Paramedic, Business Administration, and General Studies are the primary academic programs of emphasis. Programs designed for transfer assist approximately 38 percent of the College’s students in transferring to local universities. The average age of students is 24 years with 41 percent of all students enrolled full-time. Thirty-two (32) percent of DSCC students are adults, age 25 and older. Strong partnerships with high schools contribute to successful dual enrollment programs including Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), Basic Early Childhood Education, Certified Production Technician (CPT), courses to prepare for the Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) credential, General Education Core and more. Thirty-three (33) percent of students in fall 2017 were dual enrolled high school students. DSCC offers various student support programs to multiple subpopulations, including low-income students, first-generation students, adult students, underprepared students, dual enrolled students and veteran students. The three-year graduation rate is 25 percent. Four hundred sixty-seven (467) degrees and certificates were awarded in 2017-2018, with 108 of those being short-term and long-term certificates and 359 associate degrees. Public service activities include, but are not limited to, continuing education, workforce services in partnership with the Northwest Tennessee Workforce Board, Upward Bound, the Tennessee Small Business Development Center (TSBDC), and the Tennessee Early Childhood Training Alliance (TECTA). DSCC celebrates its 50th year in 2019. As the College grows and develops, facility needs as outlined in its Master Plan include a new Arts and Sciences building on the Dyersburg campus; a Health Sciences/Academic building at the Jimmy Naifeh Center at Tipton County; and upgrades to existing facilities in Dyersburg such as the First Citizens National Bank Auditorium and the E.H. Lannom, Jr. Gymnasium.

Statement of Vision

Dyersburg State Community College will elevate the region’s educational attainment thereby enhancing the quality of life in West Tennessee.

Statement of Mission

DSCC serves seven counties adjacent to or near the Mississippi River in West Tennessee where there are enormous opportunities to improve educational attainment, employment levels in high-skilled jobs, and per capita income. An open-access, learning-centered institution, Dyersburg State anticipates and responds to the educational needs of individuals through strategic planning and continuous improvement processes. In doing so, the College provides leadership in public service activities, workforce development projects, and educational collaborations to offer lifelong learning, to promote diversity, and to improve the community at large by producing educated members of society. Moreover, to improve the quality of life in the communities served, the College is strongly committed to developing and promoting civic and cultural opportunities, as well as economic and community development initiatives through partnerships with business and industry.

DSCC offers the following:

  • Associate of Arts, Associate of Science, and Associate of Science in Teaching degrees for transfer to four-year institutions;
  • Associate of Applied Science degrees and certificate programs that respond to emerging career opportunities in health care and technologies and provide workforce education;
  • A Learning Support Program that enhances the skills necessary for success in college-level courses;
  • An Honors Program that expands students’ thinking and achievement;
  • A Workforce Development & Continuing Education Program that provides educational opportunities for children and adults;
  • Seamless transition among institutions through articulation agreements with area high schools, Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology, and four-year institutions;
  • A variety of student support services designed to increase the opportunity for success, as well as services to provide access to federal and state financial aid and locally-funded scholarships;
  • Access to education via technology-assisted instruction, distance learning offerings, and course offerings at convenient locations at the DSCC Gibson County Center and the DSCC Jimmy Naifeh Center at Tipton County.
  • An international program that includes opportunities for students, faculty, and staff to attend cultural activities and events at our three locations and in nearby cities, opportunities for students to study abroad, opportunities for faculty to teach abroad and for staff to provide student services abroad.

The accomplishment of this mission depends on a faculty and staff who are flexible, highly skilled, technology oriented and learner centered.

DSCC remains committed to the education of a non-racially identifiable student body and promotes diversity and access without regard to race, gender, religion, national origin, age, disability, or veteran status.