Alumni Association Celebrates Successful Year

Annual dinner and silent auction tops off 2018-2019 year

Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC’s) Alumni Association hosted its Annual Fall Dinner and Silent Auction Sept. 11. Approximately 65 Alumni Association board members, alumni and their guests enjoyed the event inside the Student Center Commons on the Dyersburg campus.

The DSCC Alumni Association board of directors hosts the annual event to acknowledge Alumni Association Scholarship recipients, elect members for the upcoming term and recognize those whose terms are ending. The board also reviews the program of work accomplished in the past year and announces upcoming initiatives.

Outgoing members recognized were Jackie Cherry, Constance Clay and Gina Seratt. Outgoing President Luciana Shaw was recognized for her service in 2017-2018. Newly elected board officers for the 2018-2019 term were Danny Walden, president; Rebecca Reeves, vice president; Beverlee Weatherly, treasurer; and Becky McCaslin, secretary.

Alumni Association Scholarship recipients recognized included A’Donniss Plummer of Ripley and Trinity Tyus of Dyersburg. Each student gave a word of thanks to the Alumni Association for the $500 scholarships they received during the fall semester. Others receiving a $500 scholarship for the fall semester were Drake Box of Dyersburg, Alexander Hames of Knoxville, and Jordan Taylor of Dyersburg.


Musical entertainment was provided by pianist Preston Hill of Dyersburg. A silent auction capped off the night’s event raising $507 for the Alumni Association Scholarship Fund.

The DSCC Alumni Association represents and provides services to all DSCC alumni. Members of the Alumni Association receive benefits throughout the year including advance notice of DSCC events, happenings and new programs; free or reduced tickets to DSCC events; and access to the Learning Resource Centers and their research databases. Annual membership dues are $25 per person and are used to provide scholarships for deserving students. Those interested in becoming a member should contact Mandy Fisher, director of continuing education and alumni affairs, at 731-286-3265 or