City of Newbern Claims College Cup at DSCC Golf Tournament

City of Newbern golf team
24 teams compete and raise funds for DSCC athletics

The City of Newbern team claimed the traveling crystal cup for the third time during Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC’s) annual Ed Lannom, Jr. Memorial Golf Tournament Sept. 18 at the Farms Golf Club in Dyersburg.

Twenty-four teams competed in the annual event led by golf tournament director John Tucker. DSCC President Karen Bowyer served as the presidential putter throughout the afternoon on the 18th green.

Tournament winners were recognized in two flights of play along with winners of special contests including a closest to the pin contest, a putting contest and a longest drive contest. A $1 million hole-in-one contest was sponsored by The Farms Golf Club. Back by popular demand this year was the “Eagle Swing” in which golfers purchased a chance for a member of DSCC’s softball team to take the first swing with a bat from the No. 14 hole.

Gary Davis won a free round of golf from The Farms Golf Club when he made the longest drive of the day. Davis and Steven Pennington were the closest-to-the-pin contest winners, making them both eligible to play for the $1 million hole-in-one contest. Although both made respectable drives, they each came up short in the end. The winner of the putting contest was John Frye.

The City of Newbern team, overall winner of the first flight, included team members Mark Madden, Steven Pennington, Jason Roberts and Zach Walden. The Smith team, consisting of Rodney Harrison, Dave Ozment, Dustin Smith, and Justin Wilson, placed second. C&C Pharmacy placed third and included team members Mark Brooks, Curtis Colbert, Kevin Cook and York Walker.

The Ford Construction team consisting of Kenneth Hartsfield, Charles Kelly, Calvin Lambert and John Martin, took first place honors in the second flight of play for the second year in a row. The Bootheel Bashers team including Mark Manley, Justin Myers, Steven Pazanowski and Ray Tyler took second place, while the Tri-State team consisting of Carl Forehand, Steve Pinkston, Erin Smith and Wade Vandergriff, placed third.

Along with numerous hole sponsors and door prizes donated by local businesses, a gas grill, donated by Lowe’s of Dyersburg, was won by Jeff Newbill. Additional door prizes were donated by BSN, DSCC Athletic Department, and Simmons Bank. Platinum sponsor was Faith Deliverance Apostolic Church, Inc.; gold sponsor was Frazier Roofing Co.; and silver sponsors included Edward Jones Investment-Lee Garner, Forcum Lannom Contractors, LLC, and Trenton Mills, LLC. Special sponsors included Burks Beverage and Broadcasting, the Farms Golf Club

DSCC’s annual golf tournament is named in memory of Ed Lannom, Jr., a longtime supporter of the College. All proceeds from the event benefit student-athletes with scholarships and support for athletic programs. For more information about DSCC Athletics, please contact Chad Kline, athletic director, at 731-286-3259.


Photo caption:

City of Newbern_Overall Winners.jpg – The City of Newbern team was the overall winner of DSCC’s Ed Lannom, Jr. Memorial Golf Tournament, held Friday, Sept. 18. Winners posing with Dr. Bowyer, president of DSCC included (from left) Zach Walden, Jason Roberts, Dr. Bowyer, Steven Pennington and Mark Madden.