City of Newbern Declared Golf Tournament Winners

City of Newbern posing with their golf tournament trophy
Participants raise over $7000 for athletic scholarships and program needs

The winning team of City of Newbern claimed the traveling crystal cup for the second time during Dyersburg State Community College’s (DSCC’s) annual Ed Lannom, Jr. Memorial Golf Tournament Sept.13 at the Farms Golf Club in Dyersburg.

Twenty teams participated in the annual event led by director Kevin Cook. DSCC President Karen Bowyer served as the presidential putter throughout the day on the 18th green.

Tournament winners were recognized in two flights of play along with winners of special contests including a closest to the pin contest, a putting contest and a longest drive contest sponsored by West Tennessee Golf. A $1 million hole-in-one contest was sponsored by The Farms Golf Club. Back by popular demand this year was the “Eagle Swing” in which golfers purchased a chance for a member of DSCC’s baseball or softball team to take the first swing with a bat from the No. 14 hole.

J.C. Lumley won a free round of golf from The Farms Golf Club when he made the longest drive of the day while Sherry Baker and Bennie Patterson were the closest-to-the-pin contest winners, making them both eligible to play for the $1 million hole-in-one contest. Although both made respectable drives, they each came up short in the end.

The City of Newbern team, overall winner of the first flight, included team members Mike Bevis, Mark Madden, Steven Pennington and Jason Roberts. Security Bank’s team placed second and included team members Clint Buchanan, Bill Joyner, Matt Madden and John Young. The Brew Crew team consisting of Brandon Bernier, Dan Ekvull, Tommy Heathcott and David Lewis, placed third.

The Ford Construction team consisting of Kenneth Hartsfield, Charles Kelly, Calvin Lambert and John Martin, took first place honors in the second flight of play. The First Citizens National Bank team including Bennie Patterson, Nancy Patterson, Regina Moore and Steve North took second place, while the Rick Hill team consisting of Bobby Allard, Shawn Bernard, Nick Rinks and Jeff Rodden, placed third.

Sponsors for the golf tournament included platinum sponsor C & C Pharmacy and silver sponsors Forcum Lannom Contractors, LLC and Trenton Mills, LLC.

Along with numerous door prizes donated by local businesses, a gas grill, donated by Lowe’s of Dyersburg, was won by Sammy Tickle. Door prizes were donated by Jonnie Anderson, DSCC baseball team, DSCC cheer team, DSCC men’s basketball team, DSCC softball team, DSCC women’s basketball team, Dyersburg Municipal Golf Course, Edward Jones Investment - Lee Garner, First South Financial Credit Union, Lupo’s Italian Steakhouse, Modern Woodmen - Joe Woods, and West Tennessee Golf, LLC.

Student-athletes from DSCC’s basketball, softball, baseball and cheer teams were on hand throughout the day to assist tournament participants as needed.

DSCC’s annual golf tournament is named in memory of Ed Lannom, Jr., a longtime supporter of the College. All proceeds from the event benefit student-athletes with scholarships and support for athletic programs. For more information about DSCC Athletics, please contact David Anderson, athletic director, at 731-286-3259.


Photo captions:

DSC_2723.jpg – The City of Newbern team was the overall winner of DSCC’s Ed Lannom, Jr. Memorial Golf Tournament, held Friday, Sept. 13. Winners posing with Dr. Bowyer, president of DSCC included (from left Mark Madden, Steven Pennington, Dr. Bowyer, Jason Roberts, and Mike Bevis.