DSCC Holds 2nd Paramedic to RN Nursing Pinning Ceremony

2018 Paramedic to RN Class
15 Paramedics graduate from DSCC's 12-month fast track program in three semesters

 Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) honored 15 graduates from the College’s second Paramedic to Registered Nurse (RN) Fast Track Nursing Program with a pinning ceremony Friday, Aug. 10. The College’s 63rd pinning ceremony took place inside the Baptist Memorial Health Care Academic Building Auditorium at the DSCC Jimmy Naifeh Center at Tipton County. Over the past 37 years, 1,709 nursing students have graduated from DSCC’s nursing programs.

Amy Johnson, dean of nursing, opened the ceremony with an introduction of nursing staff and faculty. DSCC President Karen Bowyer acknowledged the graduates and congratulated them on their accomplishments.

“To reach this milestone you have worked very hard and you have received support from family, friends, classmates, faculty and staff,” stated Dr. Bowyer. “We salute all of you who have contributed to the 15 success stories that we are honoring today.”

Nursing instructor Trenna Richardson introduced class officers including: Josiah Jones of Southaven, Mississippi, president, Gerald Jones of Memphis, vice president, Brenda Rivera of Millington, historian, Ashley Simmons of Hernando, Mississippi, secretary, and Chad Free of Millington, treasurer.

“What an exciting day for us all,” stated Josiah Jones, class president. “Years of twists and turns in life and we each have a story that tells what brought us here. With the undergraduate degree we have received here at DSCC, we can be any kind of nurse we want to be. It’s important for us to take the opportunity to be light in the world. From what I’ve seen from living the last year with my friends here, I think we’ll be well equipped to do that together.”

Dr. Tamara Daniel, vice president for the College, presented the Friend of Nursing Award, chosen by the nursing students, to security officer Mark Tracy of Atoka.

The Scholastic Award, presented to the student with the highest grade-point average (GPA), was presented to nursing graduate Chris Davis of Dyersburg, who graduated with a 3.68 GPA.

The Clinical Practice Award, selected by members of the nursing faculty, was presented to nursing graduate Dylan Collins of Brighton. This award is given to nursing graduates who demonstrate qualities such as the practice of nursing as a humanistic art and science, the recognition of each person as a unique individual and acceptance of legal and ethical professional accountability.

Nursing graduate Gregory McNeely of Bells presented the Friendship Award, chosen by class members, to fellow classmate Gerald Jones of Memphis.

The Peggy Pendergrast Faculty Award, was awarded to nursing graduate Josiah Jones. This special award, given in honor of Peggy Pendergrast, the founding director of the DSCC nursing program, is presented to a student demonstrating the qualities that are essential for effective nursing practice.

Amy Johnson, DSCC dean of nursing, presented class pins to the graduates. Following tradition, each nursing graduate received a ceramic replica of the lamp carried by Florence Nightingale, a pioneer in the nursing profession. Nursing graduates lit the lamps and recited the Nightingale Pledge.

The 15 graduates of DSCC’s August 2018 Paramedic to RN Fast Track Nursing Program included:

Arlington – Lydia Brown

Atoka – Nicole Sutton

Bells – Gregory McNeely

Brighton – Dylan Collins

Buchanan – Kelley Hinson

Dyersburg – Chris Davis

Hernando, Mississippi – Ashley Simmons

Memphis – Kasandra Berard, Gerald Jones

Millington – Chad Free, Brenda Rivera

Munford – David Binford

Olive Branch, Mississippi – Jennifer Miller

Southaven, Mississippi – Josiah Jones

Damon Barnes – Union City