DSCC Holds Nursing Pinning

Celebrating the accomplishments of 39 new nursing graduates

On May 5, Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) honored its 61st and 62nd nursing classes with a ceremony for 17 graduates in the LPN to RN Fast Track program and 22 graduates in the traditional nursing program. The ceremony took place inside the E.H. Lannom, Jr. Gymnasium on the Dyersburg campus.. A total of 1,695 nursing students have graduated from DSCC over the past 37 years.

The ceremony began with nursing graduate Mike Embry of Millington leading the invocation. Amy Johnson, dean of nursing, opened the ceremony with an introduction of nursing staff and faculty. Dr. Karen Bowyer, president of DSCC, acknowledged the graduates and congratulated them on their accomplishments. She also recognized three graduates who took dual enrollment classes at DSCC and were able to graduate as RNs within two years of graduating high school. These graduates included Kristen Aydlotte of Trenton, Tristen Boxx of Dyersburg and Alexandria Owens of Chattanooga.

The ceremony proceeded with the recognition of 39 first-year nursing students and officers for each class. Traditional nursing class officers included Jenny George of Dyersburg, president, Jana Seals of Union City, vice president, Aaron Williams of South Fulton, secretary, Laken Craddock of Martin, treasurer, and Mike Embrey of Millington, historian. LPN to RN nursing program class officers included Kilee Beavers of Newbern, president, Leah Cherry of Dyersburg, vice president, LaKeshia Hardville of Bells, secretary, Scharlotta Dowler of Portageville, Missouri, historian, and Leslie Wuni of Halls, historian.

Jenny George, traditional nursing class president, addressed her classmates and encouraged them to use their talents to grow their nursing careers.“Even though our journey as nursing students ends today, our learning will continue throughout our entire career,” stated George. “We’ve been given an exceptional foundation and now it’s our turn. I feel like I can speak for the entire class and say we are proud to be called graduates of the Dyersburg State nursing program.” 

Kilee Beavers, LPN to RN nursing class president, also addressed the graduates and thanked those who supported them throughout their journey. “It seems unimaginable that a year ago this journey was just beginning and the people on this stage with me were complete strangers,” stated Beavers. “This is our dream and we need to remember that we are about to become a vital piece of the most rewarding profession in the world.”

Dr. Tamara Daniel, vice president for the college, presented the Friend of Nursing Award, chosen by the traditional nursing class, to Terri Pike, assistant professor of learning support and reading, and by the LPN to RN class, to Brenda Springfield, custodian.

The Scholastic Award, presented to the student with the highest grade-point average (GPA), was presented to traditional nursing graduate Whitley Jump of Dyersburg, who graduated with a 3.45 GPA, and to LPN to RN graduate Charity Bursey-Dyson of Henning, who graduated with a 3.57 GPA.

The Peggy Pendergrast Faculty Award was awarded to traditional nursing graduate Jenny George and to LPN to RN graduate Leah Cherry, both of Dyersburg. This special award, given in honor of Peggy Pendergrast, the founding director of the DSCC nursing program, is presented to a student demonstrating the qualities that are essential for effective nursing practice.

The Clinical Practice Award, selected by members of the nursing faculty, was presented to traditional nursing graduate Jana Seals of Union City and to LPN to RN graduate Adam Rouse of Jackson. This award is given to nursing graduates who demonstrate qualities such as the practice of nursing as a humanistic art and science, the recognition of each person as a unique individual and acceptance of legal and ethical professional accountability.

Traditional nursing graduate Jana Seals of Union City presented the Friendship Award, chosen by class members, to fellow classmate Mike Embrey of Millington. LPN to RN graduate Capri Anderson of Henderson presented the Friendship Award to classmate Leslie Wuni of Halls. 

Amy Johnson, DSCC dean of nursing, presented class pins to the graduates. Following tradition, each nursing graduate received a ceramic replica of the lamp carried by Florence Nightingale, a pioneer in the nursing profession. Nursing graduates lit the lamps and recited the Nightingale Pledge.

The 22 graduates of DSCC’s May 2018 LPN to RN fast track class included:

  • Bells – LaKeshia Hardville
  • Covington – Ashley Frost
  • Dyersburg – Leah Cherry, Linda Crowder, Tiffany Hatch, Kim Jones
  • Friendship – Katie Lacoste
  • Halls – Leslie Wuni
  • Henderson – Capri Anderson
  • Henning – Charity Bursey-Dyson
  • Jackson – Adam Rouse
  • Martin – Maegan Brown
  • Memphis – Farrah Garret
  • Newbern – Kilee Beavers, Chelsey McKinnie
  • Portageville, Missouri – Scharletta Dowler


The 17 graduates of DSCC’s May 2018 traditional nursing class included:


  • Chattanooga – Alexandria Owens
  • Dyersburg – Tristen Boxx, Jenny George, Whitley Jump
  • Friendship – Danielle Reynolds
  • Gates – Candace Billings
  • Halls – Rhonda Dawson, Eleanor Peterson
  • Hayti, Missouri – Ericka George
  • Henning – Ronica Anderson
  • Kenton – Kayla Baier, Kayla Bradshaw
  • Martin – Makenna Callins, Laken Craddock, Maegan Garrett
  • Millington – Mike Embry
  • Munford – Ashley Sykes
  • Newbern – Chelsea Glidewell
  • Ridgely – Brittany Fowler
  • Ripley – Daniel Taylor
  • South Fulton – Aaron Williams
  • Trenton – Kristen Aydlotte
  • Union City – Jana Seals