DSCC Honors Convocation Held

Over 140 awards and recognitions bestowed upon graduates.

Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) honored students and faculty at the College’s Annual Honors Convocation inside the Student Center on the Dyersburg campus April 24.

Dr. Karen Bowyer, president of DSCC, recommended eight faculty members for promotion and/or tenure. They included Christy Hamilton of Ripley, Christie Hamm of Dyersburg, Tammy Hines of Dyersburg, Aklilu Maasho of Memphis, Angela Martin of Burlison, Dr. Emily Pope of Yorkville, Trenna Richardson of Millington and Deanne Williams of Medina. Dr. Bowyer will send her recommendations to Chancellor Flora Tydings for action by the Tennessee Board of Regents in June.

DSCC students Tyler Brown of Friendship, Kaley Martin of Dyersburg, Melody Pierce of Dyersburg, and Samantha Walton of Humboldt, were each recognized for graduating with a perfect 4.0 grade-point average (GPA) and were presented the Outstanding Scholastic Graduate Award.

In addition, students were recognized for their leadership at the College and in the community. They included Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) student leaders, student ambassadors, Student Government Association (SGA) student leaders, choir members and student tutors. Awards were presented by academic department to honor students who earned places on the dean's list, Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges® and the All-Tennessee Academic Team.

Altogether 141 awards and recognitions were presented.