DSCC Kicks Off 50th Anniversary at Fall Update

DSCC Charter Class
College recognizes 11 members of first graduating class.

Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) kicked off its 50th anniversary celebration by honoring 11 members from the Colleges’ first graduating class Aug. 16 inside the Student Center on the Dyersburg campus.

Dr. Karen A. Bowyer, president of DSCC, Mandy Fisher, director of continuing education and alumni affairs at DSCC, and Luciana Shaw, president of the DSCC Alumni Association, presented the awards in front of approximately 175 faculty and staff during the College’s fall update.

Recognized from the class of 1971 were Stanley Anderson of Halls, Charles and Patricia Ennis of Atoka, and Nancy Boals of Dyersburg, Ann Carson of Dyersburg, Cindy Cooper, Harolyn Hurd, Joan Hudson Lee, Danny Lowery, Bill Parmenter and Danny Walden, all of Dyersburg.

Speaking on behalf of the charter class were Danny Walden and Charles Ennis.

Special mention went to Danny Walden as class president, Harolyn Hurd as ‘Miss Dyersburg State’ and Stanley Anderson as ‘Mr. Dyersburg State’ of the first graduating class.

Photo caption:

DSC_1030b.jpg - DSCC honored 11 members of the College’s first graduating class of 1971 during its fall update event Aug. 16. Those honored were (from left) Danny Lowery, Charles Ennis, Joan Hudson Lee, Patricia Ennis, Nancy Boals, Cindy Cooper, Bill Parmenter, Harolyn Hurd, Ann Carson, Danny Walden and Stanley Anderson.