DSCC Receives Reaffirmation of Accreditation from SACSCOC for 10 Years

College found in compliance with 95 standards.

Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) President Karen Bowyer received notification June 15 from Dr. Denise Young, vice president of the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACSCOC), that the College’s accreditation standards had been reaffirmed for the next 10 years.

SACSCOC is a regional accrediting body of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. Its mission is to assure the educational quality and improve the effectiveness of its member institutions.

“This is great news and an outcome that all colleges strive for,” stated Dr. Bowyer. “Upholding the standards set forth by SACSCOC and receiving reaffirmation of accreditation for 10 years demonstrates that we are dedicated to providing our students with the highest-quality education possible.”

A representative from SACSCOC and nine reviewers from peer institutions visited all DSCC locations in October 2017 to meet with faculty, staff and students and assessed the Institution’s compliance of 95 comprehensive standards, core requirements and federal requirements - along with a Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) that addresses a critical area of student learning.

During the exit interview, the visiting team expressed their appreciation to DSCC and its dedication to compliance of higher education standards. Dr. Renea Akin, associate vice president of institutional planning, research and effectiveness at West Kentucky Technical and Community College, served as chair of the SACSCOC review committee. “We reviewed the standards that the off-site committee found to be out of compliance, and in terms of the compliance report and its standards, we have no recommendations for improvement,” stated Dr. Akin. “This result is attributed to the emphasis and value DSCC places on education and taking care of its students.”

The SACSCOC Board of Trustees reviewed the report from the visiting team during their June 2018 meeting and upheld their recommendations.