Dyersburg State Honors 84th and 85th Nursing Classes with Pinning Ceremony

DSCC honored 18 graduates in the traditional nursing program and 21 graduates in the fast-track program.

Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) honored its 84th and 85th nursing classes with a ceremony for 18 graduates in the traditional nursing program and 21 graduates in the fast-track program on May 4. A total of 2,216 nursing students have graduated from DSCC over the past 42 years. “The Nursing Pinning Ceremony represents the capstone event in the educational career of registered nurses, and we were honored to celebrate these students’ hard work, accomplishments, and achievements with their family and friends. Our Nursing Program produces high-quality nurses for our communities, and we are proud to have done so for over forty years,” stated Dr. Scott Cook, president of DSCC.

Mr. W.C. Robinson introduced the class officers for the traditional and advanced standing program. The traditional nursing class officers include Courtney Penzel of Scott City, MO, president; Kennedy Miller of Munford, vice president; Lillian Hoskins of Halls and Hannah Eason of Lakeland, historians; and Mallorie Ruddle of Union City, secretary. Class officers for the LPN to RN fast track program included Brad Tubbs of Newbern, president; Whitney Campbell of Jackson, vice president; Chelsea Morris of Huntingdon, secretary; and Stefanie Henderson of Dyersburg and Mattie Moore of McKenzie, historians.

Ms. Mallorie Ruddle opened the ceremony with the invocation. Dr. Trenna Richardson, Interim Dean of Nursing, welcomed the graduates. DSCC President Dr. Scott Cook and Dr. Amy Johnson acknowledged the graduates and congratulated them on their accomplishments. The traditional class president, Ms. Courtney Penzel, and the LPN to RN fast track class president, Mr. Brad Tubbs, spoke to the graduating classes about their endeavors.

Dr. Amy Johnson, Interim Vice President of Academic Affairs and Student Success, presented the Friend of Nursing Award to two recipients, Ms. Tanzy Henson of Ripley, Administrative Clerk II at the Jimmy Naifeh Center, and the Baptist Collegiate Ministry (BCM) staff. “The nursing pinning ceremony is an opportunity to celebrate the student’s accomplishments and their journey through nursing school. As a nurse, I love this opportunity to celebrate with them,” stated Dr. Amy Johnson.

The Scholastic Awards, presented by Ms. Kim Chrestman to students with the highest grade-point average (GPA) in each class, were awarded to traditional nursing class graduate Abby Patterson of Dyersburg, graduating with a 3.59 GPA; and to the LPN to RN fast track class graduate Maddison Browning of Millington, graduating with a 3.85 GPA.

The Clinical Practice Awards, selected by members of the nursing faculty, were presented by Ms. Tammy Hines to traditional nursing class graduate Quishonda Moses of Dyersburg and LPN to RN nursing class graduate Rachel Harris of Ripley. This award is given to nursing graduates who demonstrate qualities such as the practice of nursing as a humanistic art and science, the recognition of each person as a unique individual, and acceptance of legal and ethical professional accountability.

Ms. Lisa Hayden presented the Peggy Pendergrast Faculty Award to the traditional nursing class graduate Selrea Johnson of Dyersburg and to the LPN to RN nursing class graduate Whitney Campbell of Jackson. This special award, given in honor of the late Peggy Pendergrast, founding director of the DSCC nursing program, is presented to students demonstrating essential qualities for effective nursing practice.

The Friendship Awards, chosen by fellow class members, were presented by Ms. Jackie Watson to traditional nursing class graduates Lily Hoskins of Halls and Kennedy Miller of Munford and LPN to RN nursing class graduate Abby Exline of Medina.

The presentation of the traditional nursing students was given by Ms. Brittany Gatlin, followed by presentation of the LPN to RN nursing students by Dr. Christy Hamilton. Ms. Kim Chrestman, Ms. Abby O’Neal, Ms. Christie Hamm, and Mr. W.C. Robinson led the lighting of the lamps and proceeded with the Nightingale Pledge with Ms. Dawn Chalk. Ms. Maisie Pearson closed the pinning ceremony with the benediction.


The 18 graduates of DSCC’s spring 2023 traditional nursing class include the following:

Brighton – Ariel Coats

Dyersburg – Jennifer Davis, Selrea Johnson, Quishonda Moses, Abby Patterson, Tanner Price, and Karilou Weber

Halls – Lillian Hoskins and Madison Yarbro

Hornbeak – Gracie Cole

Lakeland – Hannah Eason

Martin – Jeffry Gearin

Munford – Kennedy Miller

Newbern – Casey Paschal

Scott City, MO – Courtney Penzel

Trenton – Austin Ballentine

Union City – Hannah Hyde and Mallorie Ruddle

The 21 graduates of DSCC’s spring 2023 fast-track LPN to RN program include:

Bells – Ellenor Dickerson

Brighton – Anna Gray

Camden – Sydney Pollitt

Cordova – Makayla Burks

Darden – Gabrielle Shannon

Dyersburg – Stefanie Henderson

Huntingdon – Chelsea Morris

Jackson – Civonda Askew, Whitney Campbell and Maisie Pearson

Martin – Katie Witherspoon

McKenzie – Mattie Moore and Braden Nanney

Medina – Lisa Alexander and Abby Exline

Millington – Maddison Browning

Newbern – William Tubbs

Paris – Nicole Holmes

Ripley – Rachel Harris, Emily Trezek, and Jessica Young