Faculty and Staff Honored at Spring Conference

Five recipients chosen for their dedication to DSCC and their communities.

Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) presented outstanding faculty and staff awards to five deserving employees at its annual spring conference March 29 at the Student Center on the Dyersburg campus.

Each year, members of the DSCC faculty and staff are invited to submit nominations for the Outstanding Faculty and Staff Awards. The recipients are chosen by a committee of past winners that represent various college departments. Community members and representatives from local organizations serve as presenters and contribute funds to sponsor plaques and monetary awards given to recipients.

The Outstanding Faculty Award, sponsored by Bill and Mary Adcock, was presented to Dr. Brigham Scallion of Bells, assistant professor of biology. Dr. Scallion earned a Master of Science degree in Cellular and Molecular Biology from the University of Memphis and a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree from the University of Pikeville-Kentucky College School of Osteopathic Medicine. He has taught as a full-time instructor at DSCC since 2014. Dr. Scallion also serves as DSCC’s chapter advisor for Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society.

The Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award, sponsored by Security Bank, was presented to Toya Howard of Dyersburg, adjunct instructor of orientation and early childhood education since 2016. She earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Paralegal Studies from the University of Memphis and a Master of Science degree in Family and Consumer Sciences from the University of Tennessee at Martin. 

The Ned Cherry Outstanding Maintenance Staff Member Award, sponsored by
American Paper and Twine, was presented to Terry Lovell of Dyersburg, custodian. Lovell has worked at DSCC for the past four years and supports the College’s overall growth and development by providing excellent customer service to faculty, staff, students and visitors on campus.

The Administrative Professional of the Year Award, sponsored by Simmons Bank, was presented to Phyllis Boone of Friendship, secretary II for the division of business, technology and allied health. Boone has been employed at DSCC for approximately eight years. During this time, she has assisted with various events such as the annual Spanish Feria and Women’s Conference. She also helps with fundraising activities and is active in the Administrative Professional Council where she has served as the Sunshine Friend Chairman for two consecutive terms. Boone has also served on the Lay Leadership Committee for Archer’s Chapel United Methodist Church for four consecutive years.

The Outstanding Staff Award, sponsored by First South Financial Credit Union, was presented to Sherry Baker of Dyersburg, counselor and Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) coordinator. Baker serves as a board member for the Tennessee Rehabilitation Center; a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents Disabilities Services; and as a Tennessee Promise mentor. She attends seminars on the Anti-Drug Coalition in our community and is involved in the Wo/Men’s Resource and Rape Assistance Program. She has served as chair of the DSCC Relay For Life Committee and continues to assist with the annual Relay For Life events.

Special recognition was given to upcoming retiree Roger McDiffett of Coalmont, emergency medical services director, for over four years of dedicated service to DSCC.