Phi Theta Kappa Fall Induction Ceremony

phi theta kappa inductees
Local Alpha Epsilon Alpha chapter inducts 16 new members

The Alpha Epsilon Alpha (AEA) chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) academic honorary society at Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) inducted 16 new members at the annual fall induction ceremony Oct. 26. The event was held in the Baptist Memorial Health Care Academic Building Auditorium at the DSCC Jimmy Naifeh Center at Tipton County.

The inductees included Noah Caldwell of Covington, Gary Campbell of Newbern, Lillian Chapman of Munford, Kayla Cunningham of Jackson, Krista Davis of Memphis, Robert Davis of Memphis, Kammi Ellis of Drummonds, Ashli Ford of Covington, Alexis Grady of Martin, Jennifer Gulotta of Atoka, Madison Irby of Brighton, Brandon Jones of Drummonds, Taylor Lane of Brighton, Anne-Ashton Moore of Dyersburg, Laura Williams of Ripley, and Lilyan Williams of Brighton.

DSCC’s Choir ‘Singsation’ provided entertainment during the ceremony followed by a warm welcome by DSCC President Karen Bowyer. The ceremony was led by chapter president Emily Kaesberg of Brighton. Guest speaker during the event was Stephen Thomas, director of student life at DSC. The induction of new PTK members was led by chapter advisor Dr. Brigham Scallion.

Felecia Barnett of Burlison, PTK vice president of service, presented the Faculty and Staff Golden Apple Awards. These awards are given to faculty and staff who have encouraged students to achieve the honor of becoming PTK members. Recipients included Teresa Boswell of Germantown, instructor of English, Desiree Dolan of Dyersburg, instructor of music, Tanga McCullough of Jackson, librarian at the DSCC Jimmy Naifeh Center at Tipton County, and Cindy Williams of Brighton, associate professor of English.

The goal of PTK is to recognize the academic achievements of its members and to provide an opportunity for them to become actively involved in student life at DSCC. As members of the society, students should exemplify its four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. To be invited into membership in the society, students must meet the following criteria: have a cumulative grade-point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher; have completed 12 hours of college-level courses at DSCC; have completed all college preparatory requirements; and be currently enrolled in six semester hours or more as a student at DSCC.

The local AEA chapter has 80 members and was established at DSCC in 1979.


Photo caption:

DSC_4008.jpg – DSCC students inducted into the PTK honor society Oct. 26 included (back row from left) Noah Caldwell of Covington, Lilyan Williams of Brighton, Jennifer Gulotta of Atoka, Kayla Cunningham of Jackson, Brandon Jones of Drummonds, Anne-Ashton Moore of Dyersburg, Robert Davis of Memphis, Kammi Ellis of Drummonds, Laura Williams of Ripley, Ashli Ford of Covington, (front row from left) Alexis Grady of Martin, Lillian Chapman of Munford, Madison Irby of Brighton, Krista Davis of Memphis, and Taylor Lane of Brighton.