Student Government Association (SGA)

student government officers

The Student Government Association is the official voice of the student body. It represents the feelings, values and desires of the student body to the college administration.  Members serve on most of the major college committees and are influential in every decision that is made concerning the college and students.

What is the Role of SGA?

Student Government Association Officers for 2019-2020

President/Dyersburg Campus: Kevin Reed - kreed1@my.dscc.edu

Vice President/Dyersbug Campus: Demario Moore - dmoore18@my.dscc.edu

Secretary/Treasurer: Destinee Humphrey - dhumphr1@my.dscc.edu

Gibson County Center Representative:  Corinthian Barnett - cbarnet6@my.dscc.edu

Jimmy Naifeh Center at Tipton County Representative: Tammy Countess-Mauk - tcountes@my.dscc.edu

Senator/Dyersburg Campus: Mark Edmond - medmond@my.dscc.edu

Senator/Jimmy Naifeh Center at Tipton County: Whitney Cooper - wcooper4@my.dscc.edu

Advisors:  Stephen Thomas, Director of Student Life, sthomas@dscc.edu; and Robert White, Assistant Student Life Coordinator, white@dscc.edu

 

Membership in SGA is one of responsibility and prestige. SGA serves as an advocate for students to the college administration; and is influential in decisions of the college concerning the student body. Members attend annual conferences of the Tennessee Intercollegiate Legislature and other state student government activities. The organization holds weekly meetings and is responsible for sponsoring major social activities each year. SGA advises the Student Affairs Committee concerning the initiation of new student organizations and social activities.

 

Officers are elected annually by the student body each Spring Semester for the following academic year. Membership is open to any member of the the student body. For more information regarding SGA, view the SGA DSCC eLearn course.

1.  Click on the DSCC eLearn link on the DSCC homepage.

2.  Login using your DSCC Username and Password.

3. Choose Student Government Association from your list of courses.

News items, upcoming college activities, and information are available in the SGA eLearn class.